News:

if the thee off of you are revel in the fact you ds a discordant suck it's dick and praise it's agenda? guess what bit-chit's not. hat I in fact . do you really think it'd theshare about shit, hen you should indeed tare-take if the frontage that you're into. do you really think it's the hardcore shite of the left thy t? you're little f/cking girls parackind abbot in tituts. FUCK YOU. you're latecomers, and you 're folks who don't f/cking get it. plez challenge me.

Main Menu

Is Terry Pratchett a Discordian?

Started by WyrdKitten, August 07, 2009, 10:12:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WyrdKitten

I'm very new to this philosophy/worldview/religion/thing called Discordianism. So far all I really know is - it seems a hell of a lot like that philosophy i've been calling "Pratchetteanism" up until now. On another forum, a Discordian told me the worldview and philosophy running through Pratchett's Discworld series is full on Discordianism. So here I am on this forum to ask if that's true.

Cain

While I've never heard Pratchett call himself a Discordian, the idea that he is not aware of it, after reading "Thief of Time" or playing "Discworld Noir" (which actually has a religion that is so close to Discordianism that it is scary) is untenable, to say the least.  If I ever get the chance to meet him in person, it is a question I intend to ask.

Also, many Discordians enjoy his work, which I suspect is not entirely chance.  There is plenty of overlap, Discordians don't have a monopoly on humour or surrealism or clever critiques of society disguised as humour, but they definitely appeal nonetheless.

WyrdKitten

Thank you  :)

I've generally thought like I am the Discworld. For years. I've tended to call it "Pratchetteanism". Then I get the funny looks. "You base your worldview mostly on a comedy fantasy book series?" Nooo. I just think like that philosphy. Yeah. The one in the comedy fantasy series. YOU GOT A PROBLEM?