My opinion > Your opinion

Main Menu

PPGASM

Started by NWC, July 25, 2008, 01:38:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NWC

PPGASM

Product Placement - Golden Apple Seed Mission

This is something I've been doing for a couple months. It's fun, entertaining, and very easy.

Basically: if you see any type of surveillance camera or video camera or any of that, or even you just think you're being watched, find the nearest thing around you with a brand logo on it, the bigger the logo the better, hold it up in on hand, give a thumbs up with the other, and give a big cheesy smile for the camera.

It's a beautiful mindfuck, IMO. Granted the cameras are rarely screened by actual humans, but I do this often enough that I'm sure it has been seen multiple times. I can imagine someone bored at work, staring at a screen and seeing what looks like someone try market a product. Then I can imagine them thinking, "wait, are companies going trying so hard to get their logo stuck in my head that they're advertising on security cameras?! no, that couldn't be. but what if?...". Same goes for the security guard lost in his thoughts, or even an onlooking shopper or whatever.

The idea came to me from open road tolling. You know those things that you drive under with your iPass or what have you and then if you don't have one the big thing you go under takes a picture of your license plate? Well I was driving to Illinois, and I left mine in my parents other car, but I hadn't realized until I'd passed under 2 of them already. I figured if they're going to take a picture of me, I might as well do something funny, maybe they'll laugh and not ticket me(it turns out they know which plates are associated with iPasses so they wouldn't have anyway). I was drinking a ginger ale, as I often do, and it had a big Canada Dry logo on it, so I held it up, gave a thumbs up, smiled and drove on through.