News:

I WILL KILL A MOTHERFUCKER.

Main Menu

What does everyone here think of Transhumanism?

Started by Doktor Loki, November 05, 2008, 08:38:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doktor Loki

Quote from: GA on November 06, 2008, 02:23:52 AM
H+ intrigues me, mostly because physical limitations suck.  We can only hold about 7 items in working memory at a time.  Can't really multitask.  Our productivity drops dramatically when we get tired, cold, or hungry.  Good enough for hunter-gatherers, not good enough for me.

Essentially, I just want to be able to read every book in a library simultaneously, and remember as much as I want to - stuff that computers can already do.

YES, but more than that.  Enhancment of the mind and body both.  All sorts of things could be done to our physical forms to make them more effecient, more enjoyable, more sensitive to input.
Not a Doctor?  Why, of course I'm a Doctor!  Why else would I have this scalpel?      ~Doctor Mad

"He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man."
- William Shakespeare

"If you hear crazy voices in your head which tell you to do something, even something evil, YOU'D BETTER FUCKING DO IT BECAUSE IT MIGHT BE GOD." - Soren Keirkegaard

Cainad (dec.)

Wait, some of these transhumanists want to eliminate Payne from our lives? I... I don't know how I feel about that...

No! Payne must nevar be eliminated, at least not by laem transhumanist bliss-ninnies. Only loss of internets can defeat him.

Manta Obscura

Quote from: Cramulus on November 06, 2008, 01:12:39 AM
I don't think eliminating "pain" is a core part of the transhumanist movement.

There's a cool series about some Posthumanists in Transmetropolitan #7.

spider calls them "post biological" humans.

Now this is pretty interesting. I'll have to read more of this.