News:

I hate both of you because your conversation is both navel-gazing and puerile

Main Menu

"If it's not KopyLeft, it's not Discordian"

Started by Cramulus, February 16, 2009, 07:23:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

drjon

Heya! I brought my oar!

A note: I am not a Lawyer. I also don't eat babies nor rape dolphins or ponies.

Quote from: Ratatosk on February 18, 2009, 04:34:23 AM
Also, I think that Copyright law still applies with Kopyleft, since Kopyleft is not a legal anything.

...except a legal declaration of the Author's intent. If that doesn't count, then nothing an Author asserts counts, and you might as well go get a job making deckchairs.

Quote from: Ratatosk on February 18, 2009, 04:45:28 PM
...the content of The Black Iron Prison pamphlet is Copyright of the authors...

Ah, so there's an Undeclared Interest finally revealed, hey? ;}P>

The Right to Copy in a work is controlled by the Author of that work. That's what "Copyright" means. If an Author believes it's in the best interest of themself and their work for them to lift restrictions on copying that work, then they have a number of options in asserting that this is the case. The Discordian "Kopyleft" is one of those options. There are others. For instance...

Quote from: Cain on February 20, 2009, 02:56:13 PM
http://creativecommons.org/license/

CC can be useful when dealing with All Mouth And Trousers spags. And there's more types of theft than just stealing someone's work.

Quote from: Dr Hoopla on February 20, 2009, 03:50:41 PM
So, you believe it would be within the spirit of kopyleft for someone to post "Alternate Snub #5" and say it was written by Hoopla, and then have the entire content of the story to consist solely of the word "Diarrhea"?

Verendum Veritas, HAIL ERIS! ...παρα δε Ἔρις παντα δυνατα εστιν... I have oft woken to discover this very scenario had occured... ;}P>

Quote from: Dr Hoopla on February 20, 2009, 03:57:07 PM