News:

To the "allies," if you aren't complicit in my crimes then you are complicit in theirs.

Main Menu

The Dreaming LARP

Started by Cramulus, January 27, 2010, 11:10:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cramulus

I'm writing a live game, called The Dreaming. In some ways, it's part LARP and part ARG. I was yammering about it a little last week.

This is meant to be a game that any of you can play - you don't need to drive to some campsite in connecticut, you can play it wherever you are. There will be a game community on the internet as well as wherever you make one. In part, it will involve snooking friends to game with you. Your actions in your respective towns and cities can impact the game world as a whole.

This has been brewing for a while ... I wrote / ran a game called Tales of the Dreaming back in college. I ran it for two years, and it continued without me for several years after I graduated, sustained on its own energy. I had given life to a community, an organism. Something that would grow up and out of my control. I thought that was beautiful -- But I digress! We carried a little of that energy into the discussions about projects codenamed ARGGASM and LARPGASM. But my mind keeps coming back to the Dreaming... It became the setting for my new game..

I've kept some of the goals we had during the LARPGASM discussion:

To create a game which is ....

-a mindfuck to both players and nonplayers
-scales well. It can be played with 2 people or 2000 people with no extra work on the admin's part
-content generated / aggregated by other players
-playing the game also advertises the game

So my game is a LARP which could take place at any time, in any place, without the need for game masters.  I think it's finally at the stage where I can show it to people and it might make some semblance of sense.

I don't want to spend too much time explaining it, because I'm curious to see if the website is self-explanatory.