Psychology: I'm not an expert on the subject, but something's wrong

Started by The Good Reverend Roger, January 16, 2012, 03:29:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kai

Quote from: Jasper on January 16, 2012, 08:36:42 PM
Saying that the potentiation of each neurotransmitter in the brain is the software is a big mistake.  It's an abuse of a metaphor that was shaky to begin with.  Brains are un-computerlike.  They do not work on algorithms in the same sense.  It is true that there are algorithms for neuronal behavior but they are approximations of biological behavior.  They are not the rules that create brains, but a description.

Computers are mechanistic, so are brains.  Computers take data from hardware into "working memory" and perform operations on it.  That is what software is.   Brains are the working memory.  They do not have hard drives or working memory.  Brains are therefore more circuit-like than computer like.  Circuits don't have programs, they embody them.

Not to mention, it's not the neurotransmitter alone that matter. it's a whole slew of variables. Neurotransmitters come in many flavors. When they open protein gated channels on the dendrites across the synapse, it could be one of four ions that rushes in. These ions are of different strenghts in terms of generating an action potential, either excitatory or inhibatory. The axon may be sending either inhibitory or excitatory signals. It may be interacting with one other neuron, or more likely, dozens. It could be receiving excitatory ions from one part of the dendrite and inhibitory from another, all from different other neurons. When the charge reaches the hillock, if it tips the balance the neuron fires. We're talking ionic eletrotransport of signal that can be altered in a massive amount of ways within a multi-billion cell network. It's all "hardware", that is, it's all physical connections, but the connections and the /temperment/ of the connections are malleable.