News:

In North Korea, this forum wouldn't be banned, it would be revered and taught in schools as a palatable and preferable version of Western history. And in many ways, that's all the truth the children of North Korea need

Main Menu

an inane question, please feel free to ignore.

Started by leln, March 19, 2012, 01:17:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

leln

I just spent 80% of my Sunday editing a wiki as a project for my "Information Technology for Library Professionals" course  :eek:. I've never done this newfangled wiki-shit before (yes, I'm a Luddite, I work in a library devoted to preserving physical copies of old books, fuck off). To make a long story short, my project was to construct a wiki tutorial for OpenOffice Base. It's taken more time than I'd like because I had to create multiple wiki pages and upload dozens of screenshots. In honor of the weekend, I've been sipping whiskey and listening to the Pandora Irish Pub Rock station since 5 o'clock.

The point: there's a shitload of wizards available to guide the user in this program. When I'm presenting my project to the class, should I mention the fact that I had to exert an enormous amount of willpower to keep from slipping in comments like "and if you're so inclined, you can put on your robe and wizard hat," or "opt for the funny clothes and twinkling bell" if you're unsure how to structure your query? Or should I keep that facet of my nerdiness closeted?

I'm loopy from mental exertion and alcohol. Any input is appreciated, I can only hope that this is entertaining rather than infuriating.
[initially a "Rabid Wombat of the Eastern Intertubes." Now the] Glorious Peoples' Revolutionary Wombat of Wrath and Righteous Retribution.

"If you speak out of turn again, I will unscrew your neckpipe and use the resulting hole for my lavatory.  And I have one fuck of a case of the squirts today."

Juana