Bosses can legally fire employees they see as an 'irresistible attraction'

Started by Signora Pæsior, December 22, 2012, 12:47:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mesozoic Mister Nigel

Quote from: Pippa Twiddleton on December 24, 2012, 07:29:26 PM
Why would mediation be necessary? Whatever happened to "lets have a chat." if youve been working with someone for ten years why wouldnt you let them know they were bugging the shit out of you? Why wouldnt you give them some warning or indication that they were getting on your nerves?

And by protection of the employer i meant from lawsuits like these. Even though he won i imagine he wont be getting a lot of customers and may be out of work himself. But youre right in that people up and leaving you fucks you over.

So, once again, you're talking about what everyone "should" do in order to be nicer people. And you want to implement that into public policy how?

If I've been working with someone for ten years, odds are that "you're just getting on my nerves these days" is not going to be an especially productive chat. It might be the kind of thing that relationship therapy could help, but really, in a small work environment like that most people are going to try to come up with ways to work things out. Hiring and training an employee is hard and expensive.

So again, my question is, how do you implement "trying to work things out" as an enforceable public policy? And does it go both ways, or are employees not, under your envisioned public policy, required to also "try to work things out" before giving notice?