News:

Don't get me wrong, I greatly appreciate the fact that you're at least putting effort into sincerely arguing your points. It's an argument I've enjoyed having. It's just that your points are wrong and your reasons for thinking they're right are stupid.

Main Menu

Gifts for Grads

Started by AFK, May 11, 2007, 07:48:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AFK

...And so once again it is graduation season.  This year it hits a little closer to home for me then it has in the past.  That's because my youngest bro is leaving the esteemed halls of the same High School I graduated from.  And so it has me thinking, what can I tell him before he heads off to college.  What little nugget of advice can I bestow upon him that will be of some use to him? 

So I've pondered and I think this is what I've come up with.

Find yourself.  And do it, yourself. 

The period of time between age 18 and age 25 is an awfully awkward time.  You're too young to be a "real" adult and you are too old to be a kid.  You are expected to be irresponsible and daft.  But, yet, at the sametime, you are expected to move your life forward.  To be what it was you were meant to be.  Whatever that is.

Of course, the thing is, there are so many during this time who will subtely, or not so subtley, tell you exactly who you should be.  It might start with the parents.  Telling you to go to college, get straight A's, buckle down, and become a successful Doctor, Lawyer, Marine Bioligist, whatever and make lots of money.  If you don't stay on the "straight and narrow", and they will clearly define this for you, then you will be doomed to miserable failure.  And of course you have many elements of society reinforcing this.  When was the last time you heard of an Accounts Payable employee being portrayed as a sexy beast getting all the chicks/guys and living the high life.