News:

PD.com: "I'M MADDER THAN FISH GREASE!"

Main Menu

Looking for a publishing house

Started by Jack Grants, December 09, 2008, 12:00:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jack Grants

Hi everyone,
I've come across the book Principia Discordia a few days ago, read it, really liked it and I read the book of the SubGenius afterwards.
I've really enjoyed the humour and blending of mythologies, existing and invented ones in both works. I'm a French writer (writing in French and English) and my book has things in common with those. As this style is a bit peculiar, it's not easy finding a publishing house.
That's why I'm leaving a message here, hoping some of you might know publishing houses that could be interested in my work. Here's an extract so you can get an idea of what I do, give me your feedback if you want. This is the beginning of my dialogue with Bukowski :

- Hi, Buk ! I attended the reading, I'd like to offer you a beer even if it looks like you have everything you need.
- The more the better.
- I couldn't agree more. My name's Jack by the way.
- I spotted your sofa in the audience. It looked very cosy.
- What would be the point if it wasn't ?
- We wouldn't ask ourselves that question in a logical world.
- Let's not twist the Bollock dagger in the wound.
- I also picked out that you were accompanied by a really strange animal.
- You see many things for a drunk guy doing a reading.
- Thanks.
- Yes, indeed. It's Jean-Louis, he's...
- No, I meant your cactus.
- Oh. Yes, I brought it back from my last trip in the desert. It's my pet of the moment.
- And... it's not dangerous ?
- Don't worry, it's tied up. If it misbehaves, I quarter it.
- Be careful that the society for the prevention of cruelty to plants doesn't lay into you.
- No, no risk at all, I was joking. I wouldn't hurt a flower.
- What do you do in life, man ?
- I'm a hedonist.
- Could be worse.
- I believe so too. Apart from that, I'm in a band.
- What kind of band ?
- Rock... Yeah, let's say that.