News:

"At the teaparties they only dunked bags into cups of water...because they didn't want to break the law. And that just about sums up America's revolutionary spirit."

Main Menu

Parataxonomists.

Started by Kai, November 13, 2009, 04:26:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kai

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0GER/is_2000_Fall/ai_66240361/

Think of it like paralegals or paramedics. A /very/ cool idea.

My colleague and I were talking about how cool it would be to say SCREW THE DEGREE and just take off into the field somewhere remote and do parataxonomy. I mean, I think she was serious about it; I'm a horrible field biologist, and I like the work I'm doing. This idea has the whole "scientific monastics" feel to it though, which appeals to me. I'm thinking most about these lines:

QuoteCosta Rica's forty parataxonomists are beginning to solve a long-standing problem: "the taxonomic impediment," otherwise known as "the taxonomic bottleneck." The fastidious process of finding, collecting, preparing, identifying, naming, labeling, describing, and publishing new species can get bogged down at any step. But the biggest bottleneck of all is this: Today's taxonomists cannot pass on, to eager new students, the patient pursuit of taxonomy, because there are none. The best students are being lured into well-funded, high-tech, molecular taxonomy, leaving the job of collecting and naming new species underfilled, underfunded, under-respected, and fading into history.