News:

There's a sucker born every minute... and you are right on time.

Main Menu

Videogames as Interactive Art, the "Death of Linearity"

Started by Telarus, October 07, 2010, 06:33:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Telarus

This is the stuff I'm studying, and i think that these are some of the people really pushing the boundaries of what we usually think of as "Narrative".

Del Toro Defends Video Games As Art, Accusing Detractors Of Being 'Out Of Touch'

QuoteThe film director Guillermo Del Toro, best known for his fairtytale movie Pan's Labyrinth and film adaptation of Hell Boy publicly defended video games as being an "artform" at a book reading this week.

"Video games are the comic books of our time," said Del Toro at a book reading in the U.S., currently available to view on YouTube. "It's a medium that gains no respect among the intelligentsia. They say, 'Oh, video games...' And most people that complain about video games have never fucking played them."

"Video games have proven to be incredibly immersive experiences, and not every game is a shooter game," the director continued. "You will see that they are an art form and anyone saying differently is a little out of touch, because they are an art form."

"Like the way they say, 'Horror movies, they make the kids delinquent! Horror comics, they make the kids criminal!' Now it's video games," he added. "It's all bulls**t."

At the book reading event the director spoke of his love for first person shooter games, despite his "entirely anti-war" politics. He cited ICO and Shadow of the Colossus, Gadget: Invention and Marathon as "masterpieces" and described BioShock as having "one of the most fully-realised worlds in any medium".