News:

One of our core values:  "THEY REFILLED MY RITALIN AND BY THE WAY I WANNA EAT YOUR BEAR HEAD."

Main Menu

ITT: Confess your WOO!

Started by Chelagoras The Boulder, June 26, 2017, 05:00:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chaotic neutral observer

My belief is that if you want to learn a practical martial art, you should study the stuff they teach to the modern military.

Quote from: altered on January 26, 2021, 07:08:05 PM
I would rather recommend A: trying to find a shooting club and B: trying to learn krav maga.

Yup.  (Krav Maga was developed for the Israeli military, so it qualifies.)
Desine fata deum flecti sperare precando.

chaotic neutral observer

Quote from: Galerson on January 26, 2021, 06:24:10 PM
I'm learning about judo which has its own philosophy. Jū yoku gō o seisueir means softness controls hardness, yoku zen'yō means maximum efficiency, minimum effort, and jita kyōei means mutual welfare and benefit. I'm just a beginner, a white belt, so I really don't understand very much yet. But things are so violent now I want to learn self-defense.

As I understand it, judo's origin is jiu jitsu.  More specifically, it's a wimped-down version so that civilians could practice a martial art without hurting themselves.

I wouldn't think it would be a good place to start if self-defense is your object.

Desine fata deum flecti sperare precando.

Galerson

It's hard learning martial arts right now because of COVID-19. Most of the schools are closed. But there's judo classes online, and I'm getting help from someone I'm exposed to anyway.

altered